Top 5 food you shouldn’t eat

Hi guys, sorry for neglecting my blog! Have been really really busy with projects :(! So you’ve read about the top 5 healthy foods, now you need to know the top 5 food that should avoid!

#1. Soft drinks, soda

I personally avoid drinking soft drinks, I do not like the gassy feeling down my throat, it feels like it is hard to swallow!

What’s bad about it: Studies have linked soda drinks to osteoporosis, obesity, tooth decay and heart disease. Plus, drinking all that sugar will likely suppress your appetite for healthy foods, which pave the way for nutrient deficiencies.

What you can do: Avoid soft drinks! Opt for juices or plain water instead! Or milk, which gives you the calcium!

 

#2. French Fries

Why am I not surprised? If you have watched the video I’ve posted a few weeks ago, you will understand why they are not healthy! But who doesn’t love French Fries?  Who can resist the smell of it? Well, I don’t know about you but obviously I can’t!

*drools*

What’s bad about it? French fries generally have about 400 calories and 20 grams of fat. However, some fast-food outlets serve fries with even more calories and fat. French fries contain saturated fat and, due to the high oil temperature in which they are fried, they also contain high levels of trans fat. Trans fat are known to increase the risk of heart diseases and accelerate the aging process. In addition, French fries have a lot of salt which can cause strokes and stomach cancer.

What you can do? Opt for fruits or healthy snacks instead of French fries! E.g. (nuts, berries, fruits & etc.)

 

#3.  Microwaved food

 

Whaaat? Seriously? I didn’t know anything about microwaved food until my mum told me about it & I searched about it. And here I thought microwave oven is the best invention ever, you just have to throw your cold food into it & pop! It’s at the right temperature & ready to eat! Let’s take a look why is it bad!

What’s bad about it: Microwaves are thought to destroy and deform food molecules. In fact, one study published in the Journal of the Science of Food and Agriculture found that broccoli ‘zapped’ in the microwave with a little water lost up to 97 percent of the beneficial antioxidant chemicals it contains. Besides the loss of nutrients, microwaving forms new compounds (radiolytic compounds) that are unknown to humans and nature. Its not yet known exactly what these compounds do in the human body.

Now I will think twice before popping my food into microwave oven, or maybe I won’t even use it anymore..

What you can do: Heat the food over the stove or steam it instead!

#4. Doughnuts

This is another food that I’m unaware that it is unhealthy.. A lot of people has a sweet tooth for doughnuts, if you are one of them, do you know the risks of eating it? Let’s take a look..

 

What’s bad about it?

Doughnuts are tasty but they have no nutritional value whatsoever.

Because they are fried in oil, doughnuts have a lot of trans fat. Also, they contain high quantities of sugar and refined flour and are made with partially hydrogenated oil. The saturated fat and trans fat that doughnuts contain increase heart diseases risk.

Another food to take note! Avoid doughnuts as well! :(

What you can do: If you are craving for something sweet, choose a dark chocolate instead! Dark chocolate is scientifically proven to be healthy.

#5. Cookies & cakes

Noooooooo way. I love cake & cookies & I was planning to get myself an oven to bake cakes & cookies! Seriously I do not know anyone that doesn’t like cookies & cakes!

What’s bad about it? Many cookies and cakes are made with hydrogenated fat and contain a lot of calories. Just one chocolate chip of one ounce (28 grams) has about 130 calories and 7 grams of fat, 4.5 grams of which is saturated fat (more than 20% of the daily needed value). One cupcake has about 200 calories and 8 grams of fat.

What you can do: Whenever you’re craving for something sweet, you can choose a cake with fruits, which is healthier.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Raj said,

    Yes i do agree that donuts and fries are probably the most unhealthiest food ever !

  2. 2

    Tian Tian said,

    Wow… I think I’ll cut down on Donut Factory and cookies from now on… Thanks for the post…

  3. 3

    Bryan said,

    I use the microwave frequently..didn’t know it could be so harmful. No more Jco donuts for me!

  4. 4

    baocheng said,

    No! I can’t believe donuts are so unhealthy… no more donuts for me…. sad!
    Thanks for point it out for me. I only eat donuts among the 5 food u listed


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

